

<u>Tioga County Worksession Minutes</u> <u>December 22, 2020 – 10:00 a.m.</u>

Legislators present:

Legislator Balliet
Legislator Hollenbeck
Legislator Monell
Legislator Mullen
Legislator Roberts
Chair/Legislator Sauerbrey
Legislator Standinger
Legislator Sullivan
Legislator Weston

Guests:

Seth Nichols, The Candor Chronicle

Staff present:

Peter DeWind, County Attorney
Bethany O'Rourke, Personnel Officer
Gary Howard, Sheriff (arrived @ 10:20 a.m.)
Jamie Wahls, Democratic Board of Elections Commissioner (participated via phone)
Cathy Haskell, Clerk of Legislature
Diane Stephens, Secretary to County Attorney

Call Meeting to Order: Chair Sauerbrey opened the meeting at 10:03 a.m.

<u>Eighth Special Legislature Meeting:</u> Chair Sauerbrey called the special meeting to order at 10:03 a.m. for Legislature consideration of the following resolution:

√ Ratify Collective Bargaining Agreement (CSEA)

Legislative Clerk Haskell took roll call. Legislator Mullen lead in the prayer, pledge, and voting process. Meeting adjourned at 10:06 a.m.

Other – Board of Elections 90-Day Hiring Waiver Request:

Democratic Board of Elections Commissioner Wahls participated via phone conference seeking permission to waive the 90-day hiring delay for two positions. Mr. Wahls reported his only two staff; Deputy Commissioner and Voting Machine Technician are leaving as of December 31, 2020. The Election law requires bi-partisan representation in the Board of Elections.

After some questions and discussion, the Legislature agreed to waive the 90-day hiring delay for the Deputy Commissioner position and hold off on the Voting Machine Technician position until the training schedule is known. Mr. Wahls indicated he could most likely delay filling this position until February 2021, noting he did not want to commit to this timeframe, as this will be based on the training schedule. Mr. Wahls will keep Legislator Balliet, Chair of the Administrative Services Committee apprised of the situation as more information becomes available.

<u>Organizational Meeting Agenda Review</u>: Legislative Clerk Haskell reviewed the organizational meeting agenda noting the following resolution addition/revision:

- ✓ Addition: Resolution to appoint Amy Eiklor, Deputy Legislative Clerk, as the Deputy County Auditor.
- ✓ Revision: Resolution to Fix Dates and Times of Tioga County Legislature Meetings to reflect the elimination of the quarterly 6:00 p.m. meetings, as previously discussed and agreed.

The meeting will take place on January 4, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. Legislator Roberts will lead in the prayer, pledge, and voting process.

County Clerk Klett will be attendance to swear-in various County positions.

Ms. Haskell noted there would not be a Legislative photo this year.

<u>Approval of Worksession minutes:</u> On motion of Legislator Monell, seconded by Legislator Mullen, and unanimously carried the December 10, 2020 worksession minutes were approved.

Action Items: None.

Other: Chair Sauerbrey presented a "re-cap" on the following topics:

✓ **Snowstorm/Cleanup Process** - Chair Sauerbrey reported Public Works, Emergency Management, and Sheriff really stepped up this past week with the conditions resulting from the storm. Public Works Commissioner Hammond and Emergency Services Director Simmons have done an amazing job. With assistance from Senator Akshar, they were able to get NYS DOT to bring in heavy equipment and machinery for snow removal. There is quite a formal process to go through to request this type of assistance.

Chair Sauerbrey further noted more bad weather is coming this week and they want to get ahead of it with sending a message to the public, therefore will be meeting with Sheriff Howard, Public Works Commissioner Hammond and Emergency Services Director Simmons. Sheriff Howard reported a webinar will take place today at 2:00 p.m. regarding the predicted weather situation.

✓ Shared Services Plan for 2020 - Chair Sauerbrey reported the Shared Services Plan that needs to be completed each year would be brought to the Legislature in January 2021. Tioga County will not be submitting a plan, however, is required to submit a document to the State noting that due to COVID-19 a plan will not be submitted.

Legislator Sullivan asked if the majority of counties across the state would not be submitting a plan for 2020. Chair Sauerbrey stated it was her understanding that most counties will not be submitting a plan for 2020. The State understands with COVID-19 that it just cannot be done. Legislator Sullivan stated she was concerned about repercussions for failing to submit a plan.

In answer to a question by Legislator Weston, Chair Sauerbrey stated the Shared Services Committee met and agreed that a plan would not be submitted for 2020. All committee members are required to weigh in on the plan or the decision to not submit a plan. Every committee member was emailed a 2020 Plan Submission Affirmation for their completion affirming they agree that Tioga County will not be submitting a plan for 2020.

- ✓ Police Reform Chair Sauerbrey reported the committee is 1/3 of the way through the police reform report. A survey went out to the community that proved to be very enlightening, but positive. Community conversation will take place after the first of the year. A document will be created to send to the State by April 1, 2021.
- ✓ COVID-19 Vaccination Plan Chair Sauerbrey reported the vaccine plan is well under way. Public Health, Emergency Management and various community members are involved. Each region has a responsible entity for the distribution and plan. The County's is United Health Services (UHS). Initially, the hospitals will be responsible for the vaccines. Nursing homes have arrangements with pharmacies or other entities to perform their vaccinations. As she understands it now, the County will be responsible for creation of "pods", which are locations where people can go to get the inoculation if they do not have their own healthcare provider.

<u>Executive Session</u>: With no confidential topics for discussion, an Executive Session was not necessary.

Meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

Minutes submitted by Diane Stephens