Wendy Walsh


Location & Phone

183 Corporate Drive
Owego, NY 13827

Main Phone:

 Like Us On Facebook

The role of the Tioga County Soil and Water Conservation District is to assist individual landowners, groups, and units of government with any natural resource concern that is brought before it. This may take the form of technical advice, technical assistance, or finding a solution through another entity. Please be sure to explore the menu choices below for further information about the district, it's staff, & programs.

  News & Announcements

  Meetings and Events

No events currently scheduled.

Additional Information

Check back for information on our 2020 annual Tree and Shrub Sale!


The Tioga County Soil and Water Conservation District was created on November 27, 1944, and is one of the 58 Soil and Water Conservation District located in New York State.

A Board of Directors made up of representatives from Grange, the Farm Bureau, two County legislators, and an At-large member governs the District. The current Board of Directors is made up by:

  • Mark Kwiatkowski, Grange Representative
  • Robert Aman, Farm Bureau Representative
  • Ronald Dougherty, District Treasurer, Director At Large
  • Dale Weston, Chairperson, County Legislator Representative
  • Tracy Monell, Vice-Chairperson, County Legislator Representative

The District is governed by a Board of Directors who hold monthly meetings at the Tioga County office building on every 3rd Wednesday at 9:00AM. The public is always invited to attend these meetings.

The District staff members are committed to providing technical assistance to the residents of Tioga County in the areas of soil, water, and other natural resource conservation issues.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service works closely with the SWCD on many projects and activities. NRCS employees are stationed in the USDA Service Center located at 109A Chemung Street, Waverly, NY 14892.

  • Elena Steele - District Conservationist (Tioga & Chemung Counties)
  • Erin Paczkowski – Soil Conservationist (Tioga & Chemung Counties)

In addition to assisting landowners with their natural resource conservation questions the District offers many services. These include:

  • Land Classification for Ag assessment
  • Hydro-seeding (seeding critical areas, lawns)
  • No Till Drill Rental
  • Comprehensive Nutrient Management Plans
  • Nutrient Analysis - Manure and Soil
  • Pond Management Advice
  • Pond Stocking Program
  • Tire Sidewall Cutter Rental
  • Tree and Shrub Seedling Conservation
  • Planting Sale
  • Water Testing
  • GIS Mapping

There is a fee for these services except for pond management advice. Orders for the Tree and Shrub seedling sale are taken from January through mid-April when the stock is distributed. The tire sidewall cutter is used so that tires used for bunk silo covers do not hold water providing a place for mosquitoes to breed. Please contact the Conservation District office for details on these programs.

  • All Prices Include Applicable Taxes
  • Agricultural Assessment - new $20.00 Worksheet (Non-Taxable)
  • Bat House - $20.00 House (Taxable)
  • Bluebird Box - $15.00 Box (Taxable)
  • Bird Feeder - $20.00 Box (Taxable)
  • Chickadee Box - $15.00 Box (Taxable)
  • Flicker Box - $15.00 Box (Taxable)
  • DOQ Maps - $10.00 Each (Non-Taxable)
  • Fertilizer Tablets (single tabs) - $0.10 Each (Taxable)
  • Fertilizer Tablets (1000 tabs) - $82.00 Box (Taxable)
  • GIS Maps - $10.00 Each (Non-Taxable)
  • Marking Flags (single) - $0.10 Each (Taxable)
  • Marking Flags (100) - $9.00 Bundle (Taxable)
  • No-Till Drill Rental -
    • Truax Model - $50.00 set-up & delivery, Plus $15.00 per acre (Non-Taxable)
    • ESCH Model - $100.00 set up & delivery, Plus $20.00 per acre (Non-Taxable)
  • Pictometry 8.5"x11" - $10.00 (Non-Taxable)
  • Pictometry 11"x17" - $20.00 (Non-Taxable)
  • Soil Surveys - $20.00 Each (Non-Taxable)
  • Soil Survey Postage - $6.00 Each (Non-Taxable)
  • GIS Topographical Maps - $10.00 Each (Non-Taxable)
  • Tree Planter Rental - $25.00 Day (Taxable)

The Water Quality Coordinating Committee was established to help protect and conserve the water resources of Tioga County. To achieve this goal the committee uses the expertise and knowledge of its agencies as well as other local, state, and federal cooperating agencies.

Participating Agencies and Organizations -

  • Tioga County Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Tioga County Planning Department
  • Tioga County Environmental Health Department
  • Tioga County Solid Waste
  • Town of Owego
  • Cornell Cooperative Extension
  • USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service
  • NYS Department of Environmental Conservation
  • NYS Soil & Water Conservation Committee

PDF, 669 KB

PDF, 2563 KB