Bernadette Toombs
Republican Commissioner of Elections

[email protected]

James Wahls
Democratic Commissioner of Elections

[email protected]


1062 State Route 38
PO Box 306
Owego, NY 13827

Main Phone:

The Board of Elections is a bipartisan office comprised of two appointed Commissioners representing the state’s major political parties, and equal party representation in all facets of the Board.

Primary Elections take place to determine the candidates to be voted on in the General Election.  The winners of the General Election will take these offices starting in January.


Election Results


No events currently scheduled.



ELECTION DAY - POLLS OPEN AT 6 AM and CLOSE AT 9 PM. Check your registration status and Polling Place information here:

EARLY VOTING - STARTS 10 DAYS BEFORE EACH ELECTION and ENDS 2 DAYS BEFORE EACH ELECTION at the Tioga County Board of Elections. The table below lists when polls will be open for Early Voting.

Day Time
1: Saturday (10th day prior to election)  9:00 AM – 2:00 PM
2: Sunday    Noon – 5:00 PM
3: Monday  Noon – 8:00 PM
4: Tuesday    10:00 AM – 6:00 PM
5: Wednesday  Noon – 8:00 PM
6: Thursday  10:00 AM – 6:00 PM
7: Friday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM
8: Saturday 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM
9: Sunday 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM



Early Voting FAQs
PDF, 389 KB

Voter Bill of Rights
PDF, 210 KB

Notice to Voters

Know Your Voting Machine

Federal Voting Assistance Program


You can complete an Accessible version of the New York State Voter Registration Form on-line by clicking on the link below, typing the necessary information and selecting the appropriate boxes.

  • Accessible English Form On-line
  • Once the form is completed, you need to print the form and sign and date it. Then, mail the form to the Board of Elections.

New York State ensures that voters who are visually impaired or otherwise disabled are still able to vote and can vote independently. If such voters wish to vote in person, they may vote independently using the Ballot Marking Device (BMD) attached to the voting machine. Each poll site will have at least one BMD available for use.

Voters with special needs may also vote independently by absentee ballot, after applying using the Accessible Electronic Absentee Ballot Application:

*The Accessible Electronic Absentee Ballot Application is currently unavailable. The deadline to submit absentee applications for the November 3, 2020 election has passed.

OR voters may use the New York State Board of Elections' Accessible Absentee Application Portal:

*The Accessible Absentee Application Portal is closed. The deadline to submit absentee applications for the November 3, 2020 election has passed.